Responsible wool standard RWS opens up more possibilities for animal fibers with responsibility

Issuing time:2024-04-22 09:03

The Responsible Wool Standard (RWS) is an industry tool aimed at recognizing the bestpractices of farmers, ensuring that wool comes from farms with progressive land management methods, as well as sheep that are treated responsibly. Brands from multiple industries and regions have pledged and set targets to purchase RWS certified wool. This standard is applicable to all breeds of sheep worldwide, and skin cutting and fly prevention methods are strictly prohibited.


The goal of RWS

Ensure that wool does not come from animals that have suffered any unnecessary harm.

Reward and influence strong animal welfare, land management, and social welfare practices in the wool industry.

Provide a strong chain of supervision from the farm to the final product.

Create industry benchmarks to drive improvements in animal care, land management, and social welfare when needed.


Key points in RWS

Protecting animal welfare: an overall policy for animal welfare based on the Five Regulations.

Protecting Land Health: RWS Farm adopts a progressive land management approach to protect soil health, biodiversity, and local species.

Protecting social welfare: Addressing issues related to social welfare, working conditions, and the health and safety of workers.

Trusted certificate: ASCP acts as a professional third-party certification body to audit every stage of the supply chain.

Chain of Custody: Certification ensures that the identity of RWS wool remains unchanged from farm to final product. Only products with 100% certified wool can carry the RWSlogo.

Stakeholder engagement: RWS is developed with input from farmers, animal welfare experts, land conservation experts, brands, and retailers around the world.

RWS certification requirements

RWS requires all venues to be certified, starting from wool farmers and ending with sellers in business to business transactions. Usually, the last stage that requires certificationis for clothing manufacturers or brands; Retailers (business to consumer) do not requirecertification. RWS farmers and ranchers must meet animal welfare, land management, and social requirements.

Farm scope

The farm has passed the certification of RWS animal welfare, land management, and social welfare modules.

Process scope

The subsequent stages of the supply chain have been proven to meet the Content Declaration Standard (CCS) requirements, until the last seller in a business to business transaction. The facilities are certified according to standards, and only goods with transactioncertificates are considered certified.

How to obtain RWS certification

1. Choose an approved certification body (CB).

2. Send the application form.

3. Document review. Preparing the facilities and providing comprehensive information can save audit time.

4. ASCP will dispatch auditors to conduct on-site audits in accordance with standard requirements.

5. If follow-up is required, you will receive a corrective action plan.

6. ASCP will review the audit results to make the final certification decision.

About RAF

RAF, also known as Responsible Animal Fiber, includes three sub standards:

RWS, Responsible Wool Standard

RMS, Responsible Mohair Standard

RAS, Responsible Alpaca Standard

The editor will bring you more industry standard dynamics, let's shape a greener and more sustainable future with choices and actions together

E-Mail: info@ascpservices.com
Tel: 18561975897             
Company address: #1410, No.383 Dunhua Road, North District, Qingdao City, Shandong Province, China
Official account
Mobile terminal